Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences

Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences

As the newest faculty at Macquarie, we’re ambitiously pushing the boundaries of progressive thinking and challenging what’s possible to solve some of the big issues of our time.

The Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences includes four departments, two nationally acclaimed research centres, associated University and faculty based research centres and groups, and works in close collaboration with the recently launched MQ Health - Macquarie's Health Sciences Centre.

Our values

We're a faculty on the move with bold ambition to create educational and research programs with a difference. We value collaboration between health professionals and with our patients, concentrating our core purpose on developing a holistic approach to medical training and education with focuses on three aspects - Heal, Learn, Discover.

Our mission

We aim to serve our community, but our outlook is global. Our faculty's mission is that through putting the patient first, we deliver clinical care, learning and research focused on progress through evidence.

World class facilities

Our state-of-the-art facilities, in association with the first private hospital in Australia located on a university campus, showcase the latest in technology, function and design. The Australian Institute of Health Innovation is an internationally acclaimed powerhouse researching health systems, e-health and patient safety.

Executive Dean - Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences

Professor Patrick McNeil
T: +61 (2) 9850 2841
E: dean.medicine@mq.edu.au
Location: 75 Talavera Rd
Macquarie University, NSW 2109

Leadership team - Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences

Professor Cath Dean Deputy Dean, Faculty of Medicine & Health Sciences, Associate Dean, Learning and Teaching (acting)
Head of Department, Health Professions
Dr Welly FirmantoFaculty General Manager
Professor John Cartmill Associate Dean, Clinical
Professor Roger Chung Associate Dean, Research
Professor Mark Connor Associate Dean, Higher Degree Research
Professor Helen Rizos Head of Department, Biomedical Sciences
Professor Rick Kefford Head of Department, Clinical Medicine
Professor Janaki Amin Head of Department, Health Systems and Populations
Natalie Sequeira Director of Academic Health Strategy
Professor Jeffrey Braithwaite Director of Australian Institute of Health Innovation

Contact us

T: (02) 9850 2888
Location: Level 3, 75 Talavera Rd
Macquarie University NSW 2109

Departments within this faculty

Back to the top of this page