Teaching and curriculum evaluation

Teaching and curriculum evaluation

Teaching and Curriculum Evaluation

Evaluation, and the information it provides, can take various forms and can be used for a range of purposes. Formative purposes include enhancing professional teaching practice and informing curriculum and assessment development. Evaluation data can also provide evidence to support individual career progression, award applications and professional recognition. At the organisational level, departments, faculties and the University make use of evaluation data in quality assurance and statutory reporting purposes.

Reflective practice

Macquarie University encourages and promotes reflective practice in teaching. This includes an integrated approach to evaluation, drawing on diverse sources of evaluative information. Click here to find out more about Reflective Practice in Teaching and Evaluation.

Peer observation and review

Peer observation and review are important elements of staff development and professional recognition as well as evaluation of curriculum and assessment. You can find links to resources, templates and other useful material to assist with peer observation and review on the Peer Review page.

Student Feedback

Both formal and informal student feedback provide useful evaluative information about teaching and curriculum. Student feedback may be used for developmental, career progression and quality assurance purposes, depending on the form of feedback and method of collection.

Student Feedback Surveys

Follow this link to the Student Feedback Surveys.

New to surveys?

Follow this link to some instructions.

Other student feedback methods

You can obtain useful evaluative and reflective feedback from students in many ways other than formal surveys. Semi-structured and informal student feedback collected throughout the teaching session enriches your evaluation data and provides a basis for ongoing reflection on your teaching and curriculum. Click here for ideas and resources to support additional student feedback methods.

Administration Contacts

For enquiries about ordering and administering TEDS surveys, please contact:
teds@mq.edu.au or

Sandra Wu 
Phone: 9850 1489
Email: sandra.wu@mq.edu.au

Samantha Zhou
Phone: 9850 9720
Email: samantha.zhou@mq.edu.au

Michael Marston 
Phone: 9850 9777
Email: michael.marston@mq.edu.au

Faculty Learning and Teaching Contacts

FACULTYASSOCIATE DEAN LEARNING AND TEACHINGASSOCIATE DEAN QUALITY & STANDARDS
ARTS

Dr. Peter Keegan
peter.keegan@mq.edu.au

Ext. 8819

Dr Panos Vlachopoulos
panos.vlachopolous@mq.edu.au
W6A 237     Ext 7938
BUSINESS AND ECONOMICSProfessor Leonie Tickle
leonie.tickle@mq.edu.au
Ext 9567
Dr. Anne Ross-Smith
anne.ross-smith@mq.edu.au
E4A 715     Ext. 1149
HUMAN SCIENCESDr. Mitch Parsell
mitch.parsell@mq.edu.au
Ext. 1040
Dr. Agnes Bosanquet
agnes.bosanquet@mq.edu.au
4FW 911     Ext. 9790
SCIENCE AND ENGINEERINGDr James Downes
james.downes@mq.edu.au
Ext. 8900
Dr. Michael Hitchens
michael.hitchens@mq.edu.au
E6A 338    Ext. 9538
MEDICINE AND HEALTH SCIENCESProfessor Catherine Dean
catherine.dean@mq.edu.au
Ext. 6620

Quality Assurance & Professional Learning Contacts

Cathy Rytmeister
(Quality Assurance, Professional Development, MQ Peer Review Network, Evaluation Strategy, survey design)  
Phone: 9850 9719
Email: cathy.rytmeister@mq.edu.au

Dr Karina Luzia
(Professional Learning Programs)
Phone: 9850 1812
Email: karina.luzia@mq.edu.au

Back to the top of this page