Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences

Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences

As the newest faculty at Macquarie, we’re ambitiously pushing the boundaries of progressive thinking and challenging what’s possible to solve some of the big issues of our time.

The Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences includes four departments, two nationally acclaimed research centres, associated University and faculty based research centres and groups, and works in close collaboration with the recently launched MQ Health - Macquarie's Health Sciences Centre.

Our values

We're a faculty on the move with bold ambition to create educational and research programs with a difference. We value collaboration between health professionals and with our patients, concentrating our core purpose on developing a holistic approach to medical training and education with focuses on three aspects - Heal, Learn, Discover.

Our mission

We aim to serve our community, but our outlook is global. Our faculty's mission is that through putting the patient first, we deliver clinical care, learning and research focused on progress through evidence.

World class facilities

Our state-of-the-art facilities, in association with the first private hospital in Australia located on a university campus, showcase the latest in technology, function and design. The Australian Institute of Health Innovation is an internationally acclaimed powerhouse researching health systems, e-health and patient safety.

Executive Dean - Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences

Professor Patrick McNeil
T: +61 (2) 9812 3500
F: +61 (2) 9812 3600
E: FMHS enquiries
Location: F10A Executive Ground Floor
Macquarie University, NSW 2109

Leadership team - Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences

Professor John CartmillAssociate Dean, Clinical

Professor Roger Chung

Associate Dean, Research and Higher Degree Research
Professor Cath DeanAssociate Dean, Learning and Teaching (acting)
Head of Department, Health Professions
Professor Helen RizosHead of Department, Biomedical Sciences
Professor Rick KeffordHead of Department, Clinical Medicine
Professor Janaki AminHead of Department, Health Systems and Populations
Natalie Sequeira Director of Academic Health Strategy
Professor Jeffrey BraithwaiteDirector of Australian Institute of Health Innovation
Dr Welly FirmantoFaculty General Manager

Contact us

T: (02) 9812 3500
E: FMHS enquiries

Location: Building F10A, Ground floor
2 Technology Place
Macquarie University NSW 2109

Departments within this faculty

Back to the top of this page