Our people

Our people

Mary Ryan.png

Head of Department

Mary Ryan

Mary Ryan joined Macquarie University in October 2016 as Professor and inaugural Head of the Department of Educational Studies. She was previously Assistant Dean (Research) in the Faculty of Education at QUT, responsible for the development and implementation of research strategy. She has an extensive record of program development experience having co-ordinated both B(Ed) Primary and Doctor of Education programs, and coordinated a substantial Higher Degree Research Program. She is acknowledged internationally for her contribution to research in higher education, is a Principal Fellow of the UK Higher Education Academy and is the recipient of an AAUT citation for outstanding contribution to student learning. Her research investigates discourses of literacy, learning, youth culture and teachers’ work. She applies theories of reflexivity, socio-spatiality and criticality to the ‘texts’ produced in classrooms, schools, higher education institutions and workplace learning. Current projects include investigating a reflexive approach to teaching writing in schools; developing pre-service teachers’ epistemic reflexivity to teach to diversity; and tracking the enabling and constraining conditions for teacher education students to manage the demands of the profession.

Academic staff (A-H)

Name Area of expertise

Dr Rebecca Andrews
Lecturer in Educational Studies
E: rebecca.andrews@mq.edu.au

  • Educator-child Interactions
  • Children's memory
  • Teacher education student mentoring
  • Professional experience

Dr Amael Arguel
Research Fellow
E: amael.arguel@mq.edu.au

  • Educational Psychology
  • Multimedia Learning
  • Health Informatics
  • Quantitative research, experimental methodology, eye tracking, learning analytics

Associate Professor Matt Bower
Associate Professor in Educational Studies
E: matt.bower@mq.edu.au

  • Technology-enhanced learning
  • Learning design
  • Blended learning
  • Educational technology innovation
  • Teacher education
  • Computing education

Ms Clare Britt
Lecturer in Educational Studies
E: clare.britt@mq.edu.au

  • Visual Arts/Creative Arts
  • Early Childhood Creative Arts pedagogy
  • Young children & contemporary art in GLAM contexts

Dr Sarah Carlon
Lecturer in Educational Studies
E: sarah.carlon@mq.edu.au

  • Parent decision-making regarding early intervention
  • Evidence-based practice in special education
  • Controversial practices in special education
  • Early literacy
  • Inclusive early childhood education

Associate Professor Mark Carter
Associate Professor in Special Education
E: mark.carter@mq.edu.au

  • Education of students with high support needs.
  • Educational issues in autism spectrum disorders.
  • Communication of individuals with intellectual disability.
  • Social interaction and friendships in individuals with intellectual disability.
  • Evidence-based practice in special education.

Associate Professor Michael Cavanagh
ITE Program Director – Secondary
E: michael.cavanagh@mq.edu.au

  • Teacher education
  • Reflective practice
  • Professional experience
  • Mathematics education

Dr Sandra Cheeseman
Senior Lecturer in Educational Studies
E:sandra.cheeseman@mq.edu.au

  • The Early Years Learning Framework in practice
  • Practitioner enquiry
  • Early childhood policy
  • Educational Leadership

Dr Alice Chik
Senior Lecturer in Educational Studies
E: alice.chik@mq.edu.au

  • Multilingualism in education
  • Learner autonomy
  • Digital literacy
  • Foreign language learning
  • Reading acquisition
  • Literacy teaching

Dr Hye-Eun Chu
Lecturer in Educational Studies
E: hye-eun.chu@mq.edu.au

  • Cross-cultural science education research
  • Interactions in science classrooms
  • Innovative science teaching and learning(e.g. arts integrated STEM)
  • Students’ conceptual development in science learning through explanatory modelling and multimodal thinking
  • Scientific literacy/Environmental literacy

Dr Yeshe Colliver
Lecturer in Educational Studies
E: yeshe.colliver@mq.edu.au

  • Learning through play
  • Young children’s perspectives
  • Cultural aspects of learning
  • Early literacy and numeracy

Associate Professor Pamela Coutts
Associate Dean, Standards and Quality
E: pamela.coutts@mq.edu.au

  • Developmental psychology
  • Educational psychology
  • Homework
  • Assessment
  • Pedagogy

Dr Belinda Davis
Lecturer in Educational Studies
E: belinda.davis@mq.edu.au

  • Professional experience
  • Reflective practice
  • Infant toddler experiences in early childhood settings
  • Curriculum

Associate Professor Sheila Degotardi
Deputy Head: Research
E: sheila.degotardi@mq.edu.au

  • Infant-toddler learning and teaching
  • Relationship-based pedagogies
  • Young children’s interactions
  • Young children's thinking

Dr John De Nobile
Senior Lecturer in Educational Studies Program Director - Primary 
Teacher Education
E: john.denobile@mq.edu.au

  • Educational leadership
  • Organisational behaviour
  • Classroom management
  • Primary science methodology

Dr Emilia Djonov
Senior Lecturer in Educational Studies
E: emilia.djonov@mq.edu.au

  • Multi-literacies
  • Early language and literacy
  • Multimodality
  • (Critical) Discourse Analysis
  • Social Semiotics
  • Systemic Functional Linguistics

Dr Dean Dudley
Senior Lecturer in Educational Studies
E: dean.dudley@mq.edu.au

  • Health and Physical Education
  • Physical Literacy
  • Assessment
  • Sport & Coaching

Dr Janet Dutton
Lecturer in Secondary English
E: janet.dutton@mq.edu.au

  • Secondary English curriculum and HSC English
  • Creative literacy pedagogy
  • Teacher motivation and retention
  • Teacher identity, voice and reflective practice

Dr John Ehrich
Senior Lecturer in Educational data, Measurement and Assessment
E: john.ehrich@mq.edu.au

  • Rasch modelling
  • Experimental psychology
  • Assessment
  • Reading processes
  • Dark Leadership

Professor Garry Falloon
Professor of Digital learning and Vincent Fairfax Foundation Chair of Teacher Education
E: garry.falloon@mq.edu.au

  • Digital Learning (classroom focused)
  • Online, blended and distance learning
  • Curriculum design and assessment
  • Research methodologies
  • Primary and middle school education
  • Science education
  • Technology education

Dr Laurie Field
Senior Lecturer in Educational Studies
E:laurie.field@mq.edu.au

  • Understanding educational organisations
  • Facilitating change within organisations
  • Educational leadership
  • Program evaluation

Dr Anne Forbes
Senior Lecturer in STEM Education (Early Childhood & Primary)
E: anne.forbes@mq.edu.au

  • STEM Education - primary and early years
  • Communities of Science Practice

Dr Ruth French
Lecturer in Educational Studies
E: ruth.french@mq.edu.au

  • Literacies education
  • Teacher education
  • Systemic functional linguistics
  • Curriculum and pedagogy
  • Children’s literature

Dr Rebekah Grace
Vice Chancellor’s Innovation Fellow
E: rebekah.grace@mq.edu.au

  • Child health and development
  • The service and support needs of vulnerable children and families
  • Child participation and child voice
  • Engagement with Indigenous children, families and communities
  • Prevention science / translational research

Dr Fay Hadley
Senior lecturer in Educational Studies
Director of Initial Teacher Education
E: fay.hadley@mq.edu.au

  • Partnerships with families
  • Family diversity
  • Educational leadership
  • Professional learning and development
  • Professional experience

Dr Maria Hatzigianni
Lecturer in Educational Studies
E: maria.hatzigianni@mq.edu.au

  • Technology in Education
  • History/Philosophy of Education
  • Bilingual Education

Associate Professor Neil Harrison
Director- Higher Degree Research
E: neil.harrison@mq.edu.au

  • Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander education
  • Affective learning
  • Trauma informed education
  • Learning from Country
  • Educational philosophy
  • Primary education

Dr Iain Hay
Director of Professional Learning and Engagement
E: iain.hay@mq.edu.au

  • Initial Teacher Education
  • Professional learning
  • School engagement
  • Gender/GLBTI/Young parents
  • Educational policy & leadership
  • Comparative education
  • Tertiary Education Management

Dr Toni Hopper
Lecturer In Educational Studies
E: toni.hopper@mq.edu.au

  • Special Education
  • Literacy
  • Numeracy

Dr Sally Howell
Principal, MUSEC School
E: sally.howell@mq.edu.au

  • Special Education
  • Early numeracy acquisition
  • Early literacy acquisition
  • Number sense as a predictor of numeracy difficulties

Academic staff (I-Z)

Name Area of expertise

Dr Kelly Johnston
Lecturer in Educational Studies
E: kelly.bittner@mq.edu.au

  • Mathematical thinking and learning
  • Technology and STEM integration
  • Play-based pedagogy
  • Practitioner inquiry

Dr Melissa Johnstone
Lecturer in Educational Studies, Health and Human Sciences
E: melissa.johnstone@mq.edu.au

  • Health & wellbeing
  • Research design and analyses
  • Health Psychology
  • Longitudinal research
  • Health and Social Policy
  • Quantitative, qualitative and mixed-methods

Dr Tiffany Jones
Senior Lecturer ,Sociology of Education and Education Policy
E:tiffany.jones@mq.edu.au 

  • Gender, Sexuality and Education
  • Education Policy, Health Policy, Social Policy
  • Sociology of Education
  • LGBTIQA+ Issues
  • Comparative and International Education
  • Quantitative, Qualitative and Mixed Methods

Dr Rod Lane
Deputy Head-Learning and Teaching
E: rod.lane@mq.edu.au

  • Conceptual change/development
  • Learning processes in science and geographical education
  • Teachers’ knowledge and professional development
  • Educational Assessment
  • Qualitative research methods

Dr Wayne Leahy
Senior Lecturer in Educational Studies
E: wayne.leahy@mq.edu.au

  • Educational psychology
  • Human memory  and relationship to instructional design
  • Group research methods and statistics (quantitative research)

Dr Helen Little
Senior Lecturer in Educational Studies
E: helen.little@mq.edu.au

  • Outdoor learning environments
  • Risky play
  • Child development

Dr Kevin Lowe
Research Fellow
E: kevin.lowe@mq.edu.au

  • Aboriginal Education
  • Curriculum planning, development and implementation
  • Professional reflexivity and teacher change
  • Community and school engagement
  • Whole school planning
  • Aboriginal languages

Dr Norman McCulla
Senior Lecturer in Educational Studies
E: norman.mcculla@mq.edu.au

  • Educational leadership
  • Teacher professional development
  • Curriculum
  • Quality teaching

Dr Anne McMaugh
Senior Lecturer, Educational Psychology
Program Director- BPhil/MRes
E: anne.mcmaugh@mq.edu.au

  • Educational psychology
  • Social and emotional development
  • Cognitive and non-cognitive factors in learning (e.g. growth mindset)
  • Learning and development in vulnerable community, family and school contexts.
  • Research methods and design

Dr Robyn Moloney
Senior Lecturer in Educational Studies
E:robyn.moloney@mq.edu.au

  • Languages Education
  • Multicultural education
  • Intercultural competences
  • Teacher development

Professor Joanne Mulligan
Professor in Educational Studies
E: joanne.mulligan@mq.edu.au

  • Psychology of mathematics and science education
  • Spatial reasoning
  • Early algebra and pattern and structure
  • STEM curriculum and assessment
  • Teacher education/professional learning

Dr Carol Newall
Lecturer in Educational Studies
E:carol.newall@mq.edu.au

  • Child development
  • Fear memory development
  • Childhood Anxiety Disorders
  • Gender and STEM education
  • Teacher’s mental health literacy

Ms Jenny Nicholls
Senior Lecturer in Educational Studies
E: jenny.nichols@mq.edu.au

  • Drama in Education
  • Creative Arts
  • Online Learning
  • Curriculum Design

Dr Kerry-Ann O'Sullivan
Senior Lecturer in Educational Studies
E: kerryann.osullivan@mq.edu.au

  • English and multiliteracies education
  • Texts, discourses, & decision making
  • Professional identity construction
  • Pedagogical change & professional learning

Professor Rauno Parrila
Professor in Educational Studies
E: rauno.parrila@mq.edu.au

  • Learning difficulties across life-span
  • Cognitive and socio-cognitive compensation mechanisms
  • Reading acquisition across writing systems
  • Reading instruction and interventions
  • Developmental systems theory
  • Special and inclusive education

Dr Mitch Parsell
Associate Dean Learning and Teaching
E: mitch.parsell@mq.edu.au

  • Philosophy of Education
  • Higher Education
  • Peer Review of Teaching

Professor Liz Pellicano
Professor in Educational Studies
E: liz.pellicano@mq.edu.au

  • Autism education
  • Cognitive development (with a focus on executive control)
  • Autistic perception and cognition
  • Inclusive education
  • Using technology with autistic people

Dr Sarah Powell
Lecturer Educational Studies
E: sarah.powell@mq.edu.au

  • Music education
  • Music pedagogy
  • Creative arts
  • Early childhood literacy

Dr Greg Robertson
Postgraduate Coordinator
E: greg.robertson@mq.edu.au

  • Space & learning
  • Professional Development frameworks
  • Professional learning

Professor Mary Ryan
Professor and Head of Department
E: mary.ryan@mq.edu.au

  • Teacher preparation and reflexive practice
  • Writing development and pedagogy
  • Literacies
  • Reflective learning across programs/curriculum
  • Texts and discourses of learning and teaching
  • Socio-spatial contexts of learning

Ms Wendy Shepherd
Director/Lecturer
Mia Mia Child and Family Study Centre
E: wendy.shepherd@mq.edu.au

  • E.C. Management
  • Health (EC)
  • Families & Communities

Dr Kathleen Tait MBPsS
Program Director :Special Education
E: kathleen.tait@mq.edu.au

  • Developmental disabilities
  • Functional communication behaviour analysis
  • Natural gesture communication intervention
  • Quality of life & Family impact
  • Intercultural studies in disability

Dr Penny Van Bergen
Senior Lecturer in Educational Psychology
E:penny.vanbergen@mq.edu.au

  • Educational psychology
  • Children’s memory and learning
  • Parent-child reminiscing
  • Socio emotional development
  • Socio emotional development
  • Emotion understanding and perspective-taking
  • Student-teacher relationships

Professor Manjula Waniganayake
Professor in Educational Studies
Postgraduate Studies Coordinator
E: manjula.waniganayake@mq.edu.au

  • Educational leadership
  • Early childhood policies
  • Early childhood workforce
  • Families - diversity and engagement
  • Professional learning and development

Dr Kim Wilson
Lecturer in Secondary History Education
E: kim.wilson@mq.edu.au

  • Ideological constructions of knowledge
  • Effects of construction of knowledge on student learning
  • History, Memory and National Identity
  • Teaching complex critical thinking skills to develop astute thinkers
  • Mentoring new and recent graduate teachers

Dr Stuart Woodcock
Senior Lecturer in Educational Studies
E: stuart.woodcock@mq.edu.au

  • Inclusion
  • Educational psychology
  • Classroom management
  • Specific learning disabilities

Dr Tracy Worthington
Research Fellow
E: tracy.worthington@mq.edu.au

  • Family-community-school partnerships
  • Student achievement
  • Educational leadership
  • Professional development for effective teacher practice
  • Curriculum and instruction

Dr Shirley Wyver
Senior Lecturer in Educational Studies
E: shirley.wyver@mq.edu.au

  • Outdoor play and learning
  • Cognitive development
  • Vision impairment

Professional staff

Name Contact details

Alison Pollard
Department Manager

T: (02) 9850 8656
E: alison.pollard@mq.edu.au

Nikki de Souza
Administrative Assistant

T: (02) 9850 8704
E: nikki.desouza@mq.edu.au

Owain Matthews
Administrative Assistant

T: (02) 9850 8679
E: owain.matthews@mq.edu.au

Darcy Le Raye
Administrative Officer

T: (02) 9850 8665
E: darcy.leraye@mq.edu.au

Sharyn Gilkes
Academic Programs & Administration Manager - Postgraduate

T: (02) 9850 8695
E: sharyn.gilkes@mq.edu.au

Petronella D’Souza
Team Leader, Professional Experience

T: (02) 9850 9435
E: petronella.dsouza@mq.edu.au

Kerry Klujin
Professional Experience Administration Officer

T: (02) 9850 8717
E: kerry.klujin@mq.edu.au

Debbie Peeling
Professional Experience Officer

T: (02) 9850 9653
E: debbie.peeling@mq.edu.au

Mayes Kanoun
Science Laboratory Technician

T: (02) 9850 8617
E: mayes.kanoun@mq.edu.au

Andrea Ruttenberg
Professional Experience Assistant

T: (02) 9850 9817
E:  andrea.ruttenberg@mq.edu.au

Natalie Watson
Administrative Assistant

T: (02) 9850 8708
E:  natalie.watson@mq.edu.au

Jo Aboud
Administrative Assistant

T: (02) 9850 8708
E: jo.aboud@mq.edu.au

Back to the top of this page