Our people

Our people

Person placeholder

Dr Ian Plant

Head of Department

Dr Ian Plant’s research interests include Greek historiography, in particular the rhetoric of Thucydides; Greek history of the 5th and 4th centuries BC; women writers of Greece and Rome; and Greek and Latin languages.

Person placeholder

Associate Professor Shawn Ross

Associate Professor Shawn Ross’ teaching includes Big History, as well as archaeological methods. Since 2012, he has directed the Federated Archaeological Information Management Systems project, aimed at developing data capture, management, and archiving resources for archaeologists.






Academic staff

Name and contact detailsResearch Interests

Associate Professor Javier Alvarez-Mon
Title: Associate Professor in Near Eastern Archaeology and Art
Location: Building W6A, Room 505
Phone: (02) 9850 7899
Email: javier.alvarez-mon@mq.edu.au

Elamite Archaeology, Art and Culture (ca. 4000-525 BCE); Early Persia archaeology, art and culture; Ancient Near Eastern Art, Religious Beliefs and Practices; Landscape Archaeology; Looting, Forgeries, the Antiquities Market and the Historical Record; The History of Archaeology in the Middle East; The Preservation of the Cultural Heritage of Ancient Iran

Dr Lea Beness
Title: Senior Lecturer, Academic Adviser
Location: Building W6A, Room 523
Phone: (02) 9850 9375
Email: lea.beness@mq.edu.au

Late Roman Republic; Roman biographical dictionary

Dr Susanne Binder
Title: Associate Lecturer, PhD Macquarie University
Location: Building W6A, Room 537
Phone: (02) 9850 6881
Email: susanne.binder@mq.edu.au

Ancient Egypt in the New Kingdom, administration and society, prosopography, Egyptian archaeology and material culture

Associate Professor Malcolm Choat
Title: Senior Lecturer
Location: Building W6A, Room 504
Phone: (02) 9850 7561
Email: malcolm.choat@mq.edu.au

Coptic, Monasticism, Papyrology 

Dr Gil Davis
Title: Director: Program for Ancient Mediterranean Studies
Location: Building W6A, Room 501
Phone: (02) 9850 7789
Email: gil.davis@mq.edu.au

Greek history, especially Late Archaic; numismatics

Dr Danijel Dzino
Title: Associate Lecturer
Location: Building W6A, Room 328
Phone: (02) 9850 8751
Email: danijel.dzino@mq.edu.au

History and archaeology of ancient and early medieval Dalmatia and Pannonia (modern-day Croatia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Slovenia); modern perception of ancient and early medieval identities amongst the south Slavs, history of the Southeastern Europe (the 'Balkans')

Dr Peter Edwell
Title: Senior Lecturer
Location: Buildibg W6A, Room 516
Phone: (02) 9850 8845
Email: peter.edwell@mq.edu.au

Roman Eastern Provinces in Late Antiquity

Dr Linda Evans
Title: Lecturer
Location: Building W6A, Room 521
Phone: (02) 9850 8802
Email: linda.evans@mq.edu.au

Animals in ancient art; Human-animal relationship in the ancient world

Associate Professor Trevor Evans
Title: Associate Professor
Location: Building W6A, Room 503
Phone: (02) 9850 8780
Email: trevor.evans@mq.edu.au

Greek, Latin, Papyrology, Language of the Septuagint

Dr Chris Forbes
Title: Senior Lecturer
Location: Building W6A, Room 536
Phone: (02) 9850 8821
Email: christopher.forbes@mq.edu.au

New Testament studies; Hellenistic history and history of ideas; the intersection of early Christianity and Graeco-Roman culture

Associate Professor Andrew Gillett
Title: Associate Professor
Location: Building W6A, Room 502
Phone: (02) 9850 9966
Email: andrew.gillett@mq.edu.au

Later Roman Empire; early medieval Europe

Associate Professor Tom Hillard
Title: Academic Adviser
Location: Building W6A, Room 515
Phone: (02) 9850 8862
Email: thomas.hillard@mq.edu.au

The political history of the Roman Republic; Roman social history; the underwater investigation of Torone, northern Greece

Professor Naguib Kanawati
Title: Professor of Egyptology
Location: Building W6A, Room 535
Phone: (02) 9850 8855 
Email: naguib.kanawati@mq.edu.au

Egyptian history, civilisation and language; excavating and recording tombs at Giza and Saqqara

Dr Peter Keegan
Title: Senior Lecturer in Roman History
Location: Building W6A, Room 236
Phone: (02) 9850 8819 
Email: peter.keegan@mq.edu.au

Latin Epigraphy, Gender, Sexuality and Body History; Late Republican and Early Imperial Historiography and Historical Theory

Dr Kyle Keimer
Title: Lecturer in the Archaeology of Ancient Israel
Location: Building W6A, Room 538
Email: kyle.keimer@mq.edu.au

Archaeology of Ancient Israel, Ancient Near Eastern Warfare, State Formation, Historical Geography of Ancient Israel, Hebrew Bible

Dr Susan Lupack
Title: Lecturer in Roman and Greek Archaeology/ material culture
Location: Building W6A, Room 511
Email: susan.lupack@mq.edu.au

Greek Archaeology, Bronze Age Archaeology, Art and Society, Linear B (with particular focus on Mycenaean economy and religion), Ceramics of the Bronze Age, as well as of the Archaic and Classical time periods

Dr Meaghan McEvoy
Title: Associate Lecturer in Byzantine Studies
Location: Building W6A, Room 512
Phone: (02) 9850 1006
Email: meaghan.mcevoy@mq.edu.au

Byzantine political and cultural history; Roman history, especially the later Roman empire; imperial and elite women in the late antique and Byzantine period; imperial ceremonial; the history and archaeology of the cities of Rome and Constantinople; elite patronage of ecclesiastical establishments

Associate Professor Paul McKechnie
Title: Associate Professor (CoRE) in Ancient Cultures
Location: Building W6A, Room 500
Phone: (02) 9850 8782
Email: paul.mckechnie@mq.edu.au

Classical and Hellenistic Greece; Roman History; Early Christianity

Dr Gunner Mikkelsen
Title: Senior lecturer
Location: Building W6A, Room 522
Phone: (02) 9850 8868
Email: gunner.mikkelsen@mq.edu.au

Sinology and history of religions, especially the spread and meeting of religions along the Silk Road, in Central Asia, and in China

Professor Bronwen Neil
Title: ARC Future Fellow, Professor of Ancient History
Location: Building W6A, Room 317
Phone: (02) 9850 7933
Email: bronwen.neil@mq.edu.au

Byzantine social, cultural and intellectual history; Early Middle Ages; Eastern Christianity; Early Christianity; Byzantine Greek; Latin

Professor Alanna Nobbs
Title: Co-Director Ancient History Documentary Research Centre
Location: Building W6A, Room 317
Phone: (02) 9850 8844
Email: alanna.nobbs@mq.edu.au

Historical background of Early Christianity; Greek papyri documenting the Christianisation of Egypt; Late antique and early Byzantine history and historiography

Associate Professor Boyo Ockinga
Title: Associate Professor
Location: Building W6A, Room 533
Phone: (02) 9850 8852
Email: boyo.ockinga@mq.edu.au

Ancient Egyptian philology, history and religion; Egypt and Old Testament; Egyptian New Kingdom tombs

Dr Ken Parry
Title: Senior Research Fellow and Lecturer
Location: Building W6A, Room 518
Phone: (02) 9850 7937
Email: ken.parry@mq.edu.au

Byzantine cultural and intellectual history; Eastern Christianity; Patristics; Early Christianity in Asia; Silk Road Studies

Dr Ronika K. Power
Title: Lecturer in Bioarchaeology
Location: Building W6A, Room 524
Phone: (02) 9850 8882
Email: ronika.power@mq.edu.au

Biocultural archaeology; human osteology; palaeopathology; radiology; stable isotope analysis; dental pathology and anthropology; mortuary behaviour and death studies; mummies and mummification; the body across cultures; body modification and adornment; palaeodiet, migration and mobility; archaeological, social and historical theory; historiography; Pre- and Early Dynastic Egypt; funerary archaeology of Africa, the Mediterranean and Near East

Dr Louise Pryke
Title: Lecturer
Location: Building W6A, Room 513
Phone: (02) 9850 8886
Email: louise.pryke@mq.edu.au

Languages and Literature of Ancient Israel, Ancient Near Eastern Religions, Ancient Near Eastern Myth, Epic and Narrative, Hebrew Bible, Ishtar, Gilgamesh, Animality in the Ancient World, the Amarna Letters, Ancient Diplomacy and Communication

Associate Professor Shawn Ross
Title: Associate Professor
Location: Building W6A, Room 510
Phone: (02) 9850 7010
Email: shawn.ross@mq.edu.au

History and archaeology of pre-Classical Greece, oral tradition as history (especially Homer and Hesiod), the archaeology of prehistoric and ancient Thrace, Greece in its wider Mediterranean and Balkan context, and the application of information technology to the humanities

Associate Professor Ken Sheedy
Title: Director of the Australian Centre for Ancient Numismatic Studies
Location: Building W6A, Room 517
Phone: (02) 9850 8807
Email: ken.sheedy@mq.edu.au

Greek numismatics, and the art and archaeology of Greece with emphasis on the archaic period

Dr Yann Tristant
Title: Lecturer
Location: Building W6A, Room 525
Phone: (02) 9850 8851
Email: yann.tristant@mq.edu.au

Predynastic and Early Dynastic Egypt; settlement archaeology; geoarchaeology; human occupation and natural landscape; archaeology of the Nile Delta and the Memphite Region

Dr Alexandra Woods
Title: Lecturer
Location: Building W6A, Room 532
Phone: (02) 9850 8850
Email: alex.woods@mq.edu.au

Egyptian art, history and language

Professional staff

Name Contact

Ms Raina Kim
Title: Department Administrator

Location: Building W6A, Room 540
Phone: (02) 9850 8833
Email: raina.kim@mq.edu.au

Ms Angela Abberton
Title: Department Administrator

Location: Building W6A, Room 539
Phone: (02) 9850 8843
Email: angela.abberton@mq.edu.au

Adjunct Professors, Visiting Fellows, Honorary Associates

Name Contact

Dr Stephen Llewelyn
Title: Honorary Associate

Location: Building W6A, Room 540
Phone: (02) 9850 8833
Email: stephen.llewelyn@mq.edu.au

Dr Jana Jones
Title: Honorary Research Fellow

Location: Building W6A, Room 540
Phone: (02) 9850 8833
Email: jana.jones@mq.edu.au

Dr Rosalinde Kearsley
Title: Senior Lecturer

Location: Building W6A, Room 540
Phone: (02) 9850 8833
Email: rosalinde.kearsley@mq.edu.au

Dr John Lee
Title: Senior Research Fellow (honorary)

Location: Building W6A, Room 540
Phone: (02) 9850 8833
Email: lee121@bigpond.com

Dr Bruce Marshall
Title: Honorary Senior Research Fellow 

Location: Building W6A, Room 540
Phone: (02) 9399 8833
Email: bruce.marshall@mq.edu.au

Dr Brent Nongbri
Title: Honorary Research Fellow

Location: Building W6A, Room 540
Phone: (02) 9850 8833
Email: brent.nongbri@mq.edu.au

Associate Professor Stuart Piggin
Title: Conjoint Associate Professor

Location: Building W6A, Room 540
Phone: (02) 9850 8833
Email: stuart.piggin@mq.edu.au

Dr Andrew Simpson
Title: Honorary Fellow

Location: Building X5B, Room 318
Phone: (02) 9850 9261
Email: andrew.simpson@mq.edu.au

Professor Laurence Welborn
Title: Adjunct Professor

Location: Building W6A, Room 540
Phone: (02) 9850 8833
Email: larry.welborn@mq.edu.au

Research Fellows

Name Contact

Dr Jaye McKenzie-Clark
Title: Early Career Fellow

Location: Building W6A, Room 513
Phone: (02) 9850 8886
Email: jaye.mckenzie-clark@mq.edu.au

Dr Adela Sobotkova
Title: Research Fellow

Location: Building W6A, Room 510
Phone: (02) 9850 7085
Email: adela.sobotkova@mq.edu.au

Dr Rachel Yuen-Collingridge
Title: Postdoctoral Fellow

Location: Building W6A, Room 312
Phone: (02) 9850 7562
Email: rachel.yuen@mq.edu.au

Emeritus Professors

Name Contact

Emeritus Professor Edwin Judge
Title: Emeritus Professor

Location: Building W6A, Room 305
Phone: (02) 9850 7512
Email: edwin.judge@mq.edu.au

Emeritus Professor Samuel Lieu
Title: Emeritus Professor

Location: Building W6A, Room 540
Phone: (02) 9850 8833
Email: samuel.lieu@mq.edu.au
Back to the top of this page