Australian Awards for University Teaching (AAUT)

Australian Awards for University Teaching (AAUT)

The Australian Awards for University Teaching (AAUT) for both academic and professional staff, now open for applications.

Important information

  • Staff interested in applying must contact their Associate Dean, Learning and Teaching and/or team Directors and the Office of the PVC L&T well in advance of deadlines to express interest in applying and any pre-nomination requests and process.
  • All nominations will be registered and submitted by the Office of PVC Learning and Teaching on behalf of the Vice-Chancellor.

Instructions and forms

Categories, key dates

    The three AAUT Award categories are:

  • Citations for Outstanding Contributions to Student Learning (Citations)
  • Programs that Enhance Learning (Program awards)
  • Teaching Excellence (Teaching awards).
  • 20 August 2020: Faculty/Office endorsed nominations to the Office of PVC L&T
  • 24 August 2020: The Office to register all MQ nominations with AAUT
  • 9 September 2020: Final nomination forms to the Office
  • 23 September 2020: The Office to submit endorsed nominations to AAUT.


Citations for Outstanding Contributions to Student Learning recognise and reward the diversity of contributions made by individuals and teams to the quality of student learning.

In 2019, up to 100 citations will be awarded across the following four categories:

  • Approaches to teaching and/or the support of learning that influence, motivate and inspire students to learn.
  • Development of curricula, resources or services that reflect a command of the field.
  • Evaluation practices that bring about improvements in teaching and learning.
  • Innovation, leadership or scholarship that has influenced and enhanced learning and teaching and/or the student experience.

Maximum of six Citation submissions per institution and the maximum number awarded to each institution is four. Access the Citations for Outstanding Contributions to Student Learning Information Pack for:

  • Citation Nomination Instructions and Citation Nomination Form.

Program awards

Awards for Programs that Enhance Learning recognise learning and teaching support programs or services that make innovative and outstanding contributions to student learning and/or the quality of the student experience.

In 2019, one award will be given in each of the following categories (six awards in total):

  • Widening participation
  • Educational Partnerships and collaborations with other organisations
  • Innovation in curriculum design and pedagogy practice
  • Postgraduate education
  • Student experiences and learning support services
  • Global citizenship and internationalisation

Maximum of two Program Awards submissions per institution across all categories. Access the Awards for Programs that Enhance Learning Information Pack for:

  • Program Award Nomination Instructions and Program Award Nomination Form.

Teaching awards

Awards for Teaching Excellence recognise Australia’s most outstanding university teachers or teaching teams who have demonstrated excellence, leadership and sustained commitment to teaching and learning in higher education.

In 2019, one award will be given across each of the following categories (seven awards in total):

  • Biological Sciences, Health and Related Studies (including Agriculture, Animal Husbandry, Medical Sciences and Nursing, etc.)
  • Early Career (for teachers with less than five years cumulative experience teaching in higher education institutions)
  • Humanities and the Arts
  • Law, Economics, Business and Related Studies
  • Neville Bonner Award for Indigenous Education (individuals who must demonstrate their contribution to Indigenous education)
  • Physical Sciences and Related Studies (including Architecture, Building and Planning, Engineering, Computing and Information Science)
  • Social and Behavioural Sciences (including Psychology and Education)

Maximum of three Teaching Awards submissions per institution across all categories. Access the Awards for Teaching Excellence Information Pack for:

  • Teaching Award Nomination Instructions and Teaching Award Nomination Form.

Previous winners

2019 Citation award

Dr Prashan Karunaratne For excellence in engaging, equipping and empowering students and lecturers to achieve transformative and equitable outcomes in Economics and Excel - in classrooms, boardrooms and beyond.
Dr Murray Taylor For excellence in shaping immersive learning environments that support diverse cohorts and positively impact student, educator, and institutional engagement.

2018 Citation award

Dr Iqbal Barkat and Dr Karen Pearlman For facilitating student engagement, collaboration, communication and employability in screen production through the development of consolidated curricula and delivery which includes intensive teaching.

2017 Citation award

Dr. Neil Harrison For leadership and innovation in curricula development that ensures the inclusion of local Indigenous community knowledge in urban locations in teacher education
Corinne Sullivan For the development of a transformative and motivating learning space in Indigenous Studies that has inspired students to critically and sensitively reflect on their perspectives and world views
Dr. Kira Westaway For the creation of effective earth science learning environments that support different learning styles and positively impact on the student experience

2017 Program award

PACE team For educational partnerships and collaborations with other organisations.

Related media

Back to the top of this page