Viewing changes to your web page

Viewing changes to your web page

Viewing changes to your web page

Did you know that you can see what changes have been made to the content of a web page when you're working in safe edit mode?

This is a very handy feature if you are requesting approval to publish, if you are working on the page over a period of time, or if you are collaborating with other web authors.

The 'compare to live' button

We've made some changes to the page we created last time about watering the garden.

The page is currently in safe edit mode while we add and delete content.

Here's a preview of the page as it appears in the Edit+ preview mode:

Page in preview mode

And here's a tiny little button that you've probably never noticed before. It's called the 'compare to live' button:

The preview changes button

When you click the button, you'll see any additions that have been made to the text are highlighted in green. Deletions are highlighted in pink and the text type is changed to strikethrough:

Compare to live

Remember, this function is only available if the content has been edited in safe mode. It must still be in safe mode for the changes to be visible using the 'compare to live' button.

Back to the top of this page