Past ECR Success Stories

Past ECR Success Stories

Congratulations to all early career researcher finalists for the Macquarie University Academic Awards:

  • Excellence in Research - Five Future-shaping Research Priorities: Dr Celia Harris
  • MQ Early Career Researcher of the Year (HASS): Dr Miriam Forbes, Dr Milena Gandy, Dr Katrina Hutchison
  • MQ Early Career Researcher of the Year (STEMM): Dr Mohsen Asadnia, Dr Devika Kamath, Dr Bingyang Shi
  • Vice-Chancellor's Learning and Teaching Student Nominated Award: Dr Sonya Willis, Dr Joel Fuller, Ms Alexandra Bhatti, Dr Bruno Alves Buzatto, Dr Paul Crosby, Dr Gaurav Gupta, Dr LayPeng Tan
  • Vice-Chancellor's Learning and Teaching Sessional Staff Award: Dr Frances Chang, Dr Saartje Tack,
  • Vice-Chancellor's Learning and Teaching Early Career Award: Ms Alexandra Bhatti, Dr Christopher Lustri, Dr Chong It Tan
  • Vice-Chancellor's Award for Teaching Excellence: Dr Yves-Heng Lim with Fred Smith and Dr Adam Lockyer, Dr Matthew Bulbert and team, Dr Prashan Shayanka Mendis Karunaratne
  • Vice-Chancellor's Award for Learning Innovation: Dr Mauricio Marrone
  • Vice-Chancellor's Educational Leader Award: Dr Matthew Bulbert, Dr Prashan Shayanka Mendis Karunaratne

Congratulations to Macquarie University’s new DECRA fellows starting in 2019Dr Zichun Wang(Engineering) for the project ‘Tailoring multifunctional single site catalysts for carbon dioxide conversion’; Dr Christopher Reid (Biological Sciences) for the project ‘Ant-inspired rules for self-assembly in swarm robotics and complex systems’; Dr Jonas Wolff (Biological Sciences) for the project ‘Building your future: builder-building coevolution in animal architectures’; Dr Aline Jaeckel (Marine Research Centre) for the project ‘Mining the deep oceans: ensuring compliance with international obligations’; Dr Le (Lyla) Zhang (Economics) for the project ‘Economic analysis of time constraints on decision-making in health’; Dr Lisi Beyersmann (Cognitive Science) for the project ‘Learning to read and understand complex words’; Dr Devika Kamath (Astronomy and Astrophysics) for the project ‘Cosmic alchemy: revealing the origin of elements in the universe’; Dr Catherine Bishop (Business & Economics) for the project ‘A history of Australian businesswomen since 1880’Dr Adam Hochman (Philosophy) for the project ‘Social constructionism about race’; and Dr Glenn Kefford (Modern History, Politics and International Relations) for the project ‘Data, digital and field: political parties and 21st century campaigning’.

Our four new Superstars of STEM from the Faculty of Science and Engineering: Dr Lizzy Lowe, an urban ecologist who works with local communities to improve the health of our cities with a particular passion for raising the public profile of under-appreciated animals such as spiders, and encouraging engagement with nature in cities; Dr Devika Kamath, an astrophysicist recognised for her work on observational studies of dying stars and their implications on the origin of elements in the universe; Dr Kate Selway, an Earth scientist currently focused on understanding why plate tectonics happens, knowing where to explore for ore deposits, and improving measurements of ice loss from ice sheets and Dr Georgia Ward-Fear, a conservation biologist with a broad interest in evolution, ecology, invasive species and reptiles.

Read more about our new Superstars of STEM here.

Drs Jennifer Barr and Dr Kerry-Ann O’Sullivan (Department of Educational Studies) who received a Vice Chancellor’s Citation for their Outstanding Contribution to Student Learning.

Dr Simon Gross from the Department of Physics and Astronomy has been awarded a 2018 NSW Young Tall Poppy Science Award for his work with laser and microchip technology. Young Tall Poppy Awards recognise outstanding early career researchers who are passionate about communicating their science and engaging with the community. Read more about Simon's win and research here.

Back to the top of this page