Early Career Researcher Network

Early Career Researcher Network

The Macquarie University Early Career Researcher (ECR) Network helps you develop your career and create pathways for achieving world-leading research at Macquarie. The Network hosts events, workshops and presentations to enable career development and networking.

ECR Network workshops and seminars aim to meet nine key research career building capabilities. Workshops and seminars are open to all Early Career Researcher staff.

ECR Network activities are led by the Pro Vice-Chancellor (Research Integrity and Development) and guided by the ECR Network Advisory Group, consisting of two representatives from each Faculty and one from MGSM.

Subscribe to the ECR communications list to receive monthly newsletters and regular updates by emailing ecrsupport@mq.edu.au.

ECR News

Did you know editorial review is available from the PVC (Research Integrity and Development) team and some Faculty research offices for ECR prizes and awards? If you are considering nominating for an external prize let your Faculty Research Manager know and talk to them about support available to you.

A number of prestigious ECR Prizes and Awards are now open, including NSW Young Tall Poppy Science Awards, the L'OREAL Australia and New Zealand Women in Science Fellowships, Australian Academy of Science Awards and the Australian Museum Eureka Prizes. See a comprehensive list on the External Prizes and Awards page.

Congratulations to Dr Annie Lau from the Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences who received a Thomson Reuters Women in Research Citation Award on 26 October in Canberra. These inaugural awards recognise outstanding achievements of early to mid-career women researchers in Australia across all fields of research in science, social sciences and the humanities).

Upcoming events

ECR Brunch by the Lake

9.30am - 11am Friday 24 March 2017

Join us for a brunch event on the lawn by the lake to launch the 2017 Early Career Researcher calendar. Join the Vice-Chancellor and Pro Vice-Chancellor (Research Integrity and Development) to find out more about the ECR activities planned for you in 2017.

This is also a fantastic opportunity to connect with your peers and colleagues over a delicious brunch!

RSVP to your invitation to secure your place or contact us at ecrsupport@mq.edu.au for more information.

ECR Network Advisory Group

ECR Network Advisory Group meetings are held every two months. Their purpose is to share information between faculties and central support and recommend activities for the ECR Network team to develop. If you wish to discuss faculty-specific ECR support or provide suggestions for University-wide initiatives, contact your Faculty representative:

Faculty of Arts

Dr Kumiko Kawashima
E: kumiko.kawashima@mq.edu.au

Dr Alexandra Kurmann
E: alex.kurmann@mq.edu.au

Faculty of Business and Economics

Dr Senia Kalfa
E: senia.kalfa@mq.edu.au

Dr Karina Luzia
E: karina.luzia@mq.edu.au

Faculty of Human Sciences

Dr Titia Benders
E: titia.benders@mq.edu.au

Dr Yeshe Colliver

E: yeshe.colliver@mq.edu.au

Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences

Dr Marco Morsch
E: marco.morsch@mq.edu.au

Dr Janet Long
E: janet.long@mq.edu.au

Faculty of Science and Engineering

Dr Rachael Gallagher
E: rachael.gallagher@mq.edu.au

Dr Lee Spitler
E: lee.spitler@mq.edu.au

Macquarie Graduate School of Management

Dr Lyla Zhang

E: lyla.zhang@mgsm.edu.au

Advisers

Professor Amanda Barnier
E: amanda.barnier@mq.edu.au

Jo Tuck
E: jo.tuck@mq.edu.au

Pro Vice-Chancellor, Research (Integrity and Development) Team

Distinguished Professor Lesley Hughes, Pro-Vice Chancellor Research (Integrity and Development)
E: lesley.hughes@mq.edu.au

Emily Brennan, PVCR Project Coordinator
E: emily.brennan@mq.edu.au

Jeretta Krampah, PVCR Administration Officer
E: jeretta.krampah@mq.edu.au

Back to the top of this page