Research committee

Research committee

The Faculty of Science Research Committee meets every month to discuss everything relating to research in the faculty, including:

  • University policy and direction where it impacts on research activities
  • Support available for research
  • Faculty funding
  • External data collection schemes
  • Grant applications and success rates

If there is an issue you feel the committee should be talking about, please bring it to the attention of the Research Director for your department, who is your representative on the committee.

The Terms of Reference for the Faculty Research Committee can be found here.

Research Committee Members in 2019:

  • Professor David Coutts, Associate Dean Research
    Kirstie Fryirs, Deputy Associate Dean Research
  • Professor Grant Hose Associate Dean International and Corporate Engagement
  • Associate Professor Tracy Rushmer, Deputy Associate Dean Higher Degree Research
  • Professor Jian Yang, Research Director Computing
  • Dr Georgy Sofronov, Research Director Mathematics and Statistics
  • Professor Iain Collings, Research Director Engineering
  • Professor Orsola De Marco, Research Director Physics and Astronomy
  • Professor Nicki Packer, Research Director CBMS
  • Associate Professor Andrew Barron, Research Director Biological Sciences
  • Professor Simon French, Research Director Chiropractic
  • Professor Sue O’Reilly, Centre Director ARC Centre of Excellence for CCFS
  • Professor Stephen Foley, Research Director Earth and Environmental Sciences
  • Professor Jon Lawrence, Research Director for the AAO
Back to the top of this page