Faculty of Arts awards and recognition

Faculty of Arts awards and recognition

Academic Staff Awards, Professional Staff Awards, promotions and scholarships: awards season is in full swing! See who from the Faculty of Arts has been recognised for their outstanding work recently.

Outstanding service award for Madi Day

Madi Day, Department Administrator and Research Assistant received a Professional Staff award Outstanding Service - Highly Commended, For introducing a range of initiatives to strengthen and further the research, outreach and teaching undertaken by the Department of Indigenous Studies.

The 2019 Vice-Chancellor’s Excellence Awards for Professional Staff were announced in a ceremony at The Incubator on 20 November.

Early Career Researcher of the Year

Dr Katrina Hutchison, Philosophy, has been named the Macquarie University Early Career Researcher of the Year – HASS, as well as being awarded an ARC Discovery Early Career Researcher award.

Dr Hutchison’s project is on ‘The impact of micro gender biases on women's careers: the case of surgery’. This project will investigate how small, cumulative gender biases affect women’s career paths and progression in surgery, with implications for similar careers. It will use philosophical theories to provide new ways of understanding workplace gender discrimination.

Research award for Kate Lloyd and Sandie Suchet-Pearson

Associate Professor Kate Lloyd and Associate Professor Sandie Suchet-Pearson from the Department of Geography and Planning alongside the Bawaka Collective received the Macquarie University ‘Excellence in Research: Five Future-Shaping Research Priorities’ award in the ‘Resilient Societies’ category.

Their long-term collaboration nourishes and, where appropriate, shares Yolŋu knowledge to support Indigenous and non-Indigenous intergenerational and intercultural learnings.

Learning Innovation award for an outstanding team

Michael Rampe from the Faculty of Arts was in a team led by Associate Professor Kira Westaway exploring the potential of VR for learning and teaching, which received the Vice-Chancellor’s Award for Learning Innovation.

Associate Professor Kira Westaway suggests that some of the major issues facing tertiary education are unengaged students with no curiosity and limited employability skills, as well as students who struggle to visualise concepts and form connections with the real world.

MMCCS PhD candidate Timothy Yee awarded a Fulbright Scholarship

Timothy Yee will be joining the research group metaLAB @ Harvard for six months as an affiliate, thanks to the support of a Fulbright Postgraduate (Research) Scholarship. He will be conducting research and making artworks with internationally renowned creative practitioners in the networked arts and humanities about the ways in which the concept of innovation is mediated in everyday corporate cultures. The purpose of this visit is to explore new research methodologies that bring media studies, digital ethnography and creative practice together, which he hopes to include in his PhD dissertation.

“I’m beyond excited to be returning to Harvard University in 2020, having previously participated in a three month research internship during my MQ Master of Research in 2017,” says Timothy.

“The Fulbright Scholarship will allow me to continue working with a global network of artists, scholars and professionals conducting cutting edge research in my field.

“This amazing opportunity would not have been possible without the encouragement and support of my wonderful PhD supervisor Dr Margie Borschke and Fulbright Australia.”

A new Distinguished Professor

Professor Catriona Mackenzie from the Department of Philosophy has been awarded the title of Distinguished Professor. This is the highest academic honour that the University can bestow on a member of the academic community and is an outstanding achievement.

Professor David Christian from the Department of Modern History, Politics and International Relations has been renominated as a Distinguished Professor for a new term.

Associate Professor Kristian Ruming accepted into ARC College of Experts

Associate Professor Ruming has been accepted into the Australian Research Council (ARC) College of Experts, meaning he will have a role in assessing grant applications, make funding recommendations, and provide strategic advice to the ARC in order to achieve a thorough and fair research funding process in Australia.

Latest promotions in the Faculty

Congratulations to the following colleagues who have been successful in their applications for promotion:

Level E - Full Professor:

Javier Alvarez-Mon (Ancient History)

Michelle Arrow (Modern History, Politics & International Relations)

Malcolm Choat (Ancient History)

Niloufer Selvadurai (Law School)

Andrew Tan (Security Studies and Criminology)

Amanda Wise (Sociology)

Level D - Associate Professor:

Andrew Alter (MMCCS)

Nicholas Baker (Modern History, Politics & International Relations)

Lise Barry  (Law School)

Daniel Ghezelbash (Law School)

Adam Lockyer (Security Studies and Criminology)

Fiona Miller (Geography and Planning)

Ian Plant (Ancient History)

Jaap Timmer (Anthropology)

Selvaraj Velayutham (Sociology)

Level C (Senior Lecturer):

Kyle Keimer (AHST)

Danijel Dzino (AHST)

Jessica McLean (GEOP)

Susanne Binder (INTS)

Holly Doel-Mackaway (LAW)

Sonya Willis (LAW)

Adele Garnier (MHPIR)

Sung-Young Kim (MHPIR)

Sarah Keith (MMCCS)

Maria Amigo (FoA PACE)

Tom Waldman (SSC)

Yves-Heng Lim (SSC)

Back to the top of this page